Results from the 2018 Ontario Cup

Facebook Twitter

The wrestling weekend for Quebec concluded with the Ontario Cup held on Sunday July 8th.  The tournament features the Cadet and Junior age groups and a good dose of international competition as the United States, Puerto Rico and China sent athletes to the competition.  CLIC and the Montreal YMHA sent athletes to the competition with some strong results.

From CLIC, Christopher Merlo wrestled a strong competition at the 48 kgs to finish off with a Silver Medal while Thomas Rizk would win the Bronze Medal at 92 kgs Junior Men.

Christopher Merlo

Thomas Rizk

Wrestling for the Montreal YMHA, Jason Luneau would win his final match via Technical Fall (10-0) to win the Gold Medal at 55 kgs Cadet Boys.  Also in the Cadet Division, Stone Lewis would wrestle a strong tournament to win Gold at 65 kgs.  Finally, Antonio Iordache wrestling at 71 kgs Cadet Boys, would win his division comfortably to win the last Gold Medal for the Cadets.  In the Junior Women Division, Kaya Dubé-Snow would win her Best of Three tournament at 55 kgs to take home the Gold Medal while at the 59 kgs Junior Women division, Cristina Coreconcenva and Erin Rainville would finish off 1-2 to win Gold and Silver in the division.  Finally at 68 kgs Junior Women, Alexia Sherland would win Gold to finish off a strong showing from our Quebec women.

Kaya Dubé-Snow

Cristina Coreconcenva

Erin Rainville

Alexia Sherland

Jason Luneau

Stone Lewis

Antonio Iordache

 In the Junior Men's division, Nataël Lebrun-Cantin would face some very strong competition at 65 kgs and finish off with a Silver Medal while at 70 kgs, Sam Garland and Sam Rainville would win Silver and Bronze in the Round-Robin.  At 79 kgs, Aaron Orzack would win a Gold Medal while Kyle Price would win Bronze at 86 kgs.  Finally, Julien Choquette would finish off Quebec's strong performance in Guelph by winning Gold at 92 kgs.  Congratulations to all our Quebec athletes for their excellent performances!

Nataël Lebrun-Cantin

Sam Garland

Sam Rainville

Aaron Orzack

Kyle Price

Julien Choquette


Jason's Blog