Results from the 2018 Canadian Junior Nationals

Facebook Twitter

The Venue

Friday March 16th kicked off the Canadian Junior Nationals at the Centre Claude Robillard.  Canada's best Junior athletes converged on the Centre Claude Robillard looking to secure a spot on the Canadian Junior National team.  The Montreal YMHA, who finished off as the top Men Junior National Team for the last two years were looking to make it three in a row on home ground.  The task would prove to be very difficult as the level of competition was extremely high.  The only Quebec club to compete was the Montreal YMHA and the results were as follows:

Aly Barghout goes for the pin in the 125 kgs Gold Medal Final

Erin Rainville goes for the pin

Jonathan Campagnolo takes down Chris O'Toole

Kaya Dube-Snow in the Gold Medal Final

In the Junior Men division starting with the 70 kgs division, Samuel Rainville (6th), Sam Garland (5th) and Jaskaran Singh (4th) all secured Top Six placings while at 79 kgs Aron Orzak took Silver.  At 86 kgs, Kyle Price won via Technical Fall (13-2) to secure the Bronze Medal.  At 92 kgs Julien Choquette would lose a close match and finish off with Silver while Jonathan Campagnolo would finish 6th at 97 kgs.  Rounding out the results for the Junior Men was Aly Barghout who would win Gold at 125 kgs via Technical Fall (10-0).  The Montreal YMHA would finish second as club in the country, missing out to defend their Junior National title while the province of Quebec would finish a respectable 3rd.

Aron Orzak

Kyle Price

Julien Choquette

Aly Barghout

For the Junior Women at 53 kgs, Jayden Sparks would finish 5th while Kaya Dube-Snow would take home a Silver Medal in the same division.  At 57 kgs, Erin Rainville would lose only one match in the round-robin to win Silver while Christina Corecencova would win all her matches in the round-robin to win Gold at 59 kgs.  Finally at 68 kgs, Alexia Sherland woud go 2-2 in the round-robin to finish 4th.  The Montreal YMHA would finish third as a club and thrid as a province to finish off the competition.  Congratulations to our Quebec athletes for a hard-fought competition.

Kaya Dube-Snow

Erin Rainville

Christina Corecencova


Jason's Blog




Athletic Bursaries